A long story that could not (would not) be cut short

To understand just one life, you have to swallow the world. I told you that.
[- Salman Rushdie, Midnight’s Children.]

Isn’t it ironic that, while reading a book manifestly about memory, my brain has so clouded over that I cannot remember  the exact moment when it came to be in my possession? All I can reliably determine is that P made me a gift of Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children a very long time ago. Our names are spelled out in full on the title page, that’s how I know it was quite a long time ago. My estimate for the time is 2007, a now-faraway year of innocent beginnings when, among other things, our most cherished stories began to enter our conversations.

That’s a long time to finish reading a book, wouldn’t you say? Well, it certainly is the longest I have ever taken to finish a novel. It took some time for me to get hooked. There was a false start in 2009, and then another in 2010 until something clicked inside my head and I began to realize that the book’s strange prose was a result of Rushdie’s devious imagination writing a novel in several Indian languages that repeatedly went peekaboo though the curtain of English words. So it was that, in my inertial frame of reference, Aadam Sinai’s gigantic nose bled three drops of blood in 2009, and then it bled again in early 2010. Saleem and Shiva and the children of midnight were born in late 2010, and the saga of nose-and-knees lodged itself in my head, never to leave. I’ve packed the book on my travels, read it on airports and airplanes, and in hotel rooms across three continents if not four, yet it became like that other great book One Hundred Years of Solitude; a book that grew stranger in the telling, grew pages on the right even as I pushed more pages to the left, a book with no end in sight.

It wasn’t just because I am a slow reader. It wasn’t at all because I was frustrated with the book, as P. said of some friends who were undone by the frequent and recursive flashbacks. Indeed, I thrive on flashbacks, and wallow in nostalgia and have been chastised for that more often that I care to admit. It was that my head became too full of thoughts, too consumed by words, too awed at their power, too full of memories that weren’t my own, just too full to breathe properly unless I set the book down for a bit. Midnight’s Children is a novel about India’s recent history – a history with which I have a layered but inconsistent familiarity, an epoch that began from before independence up until the dark days of the Emergency, which was lifted in 1977. The novel was published around 1980, and that fact is one reason why the Emergency figures so prominently in the last quarter of the book – the scars were deeply felt, even as Rushdie was writing the story.

… and whispering through the wall came the tale of their undoing, the tormented cry of children who had lost their magic: she had cut it out of us, gorgeously with wide rolling hips she had devised the operation of our annihilation, […] now fishes could not be multiplied nor base metals transmuted; gone forever, the possibilities of flight and lycanthropy and the originally-one-thousand-and-one marvelous promises of a numinous midnight.

As was the case with Vikram Seth’s A Suitable Boy, which spun a rambling but delicate yarn through 1950’s India, I was simultaneously reading a novel and reliving a past – a past that I didn’t live myself, but which lives in me through the experiences, traditions and customs of the people and places in whose midst I grew to adulthood. It was an India that has, for the most part, stopped existing; blown away by globalization, software and the resultant sudden – if uneven – prosperity. We used to be a subcontinent of mutinies both external and internal, of struggles against the British Raj, of wars against China and Pakistan, of the bleakness wrought by the Emergency. Today, there is freedom and relative peace with the neighbors and the battles of citizens are internal: Each election renews a Faustian bargain with the future, through a choice between a largely corrupt, secular but ineffectual Left and a less corrupt, somewhat effective, but fundamentalist Right. Rushdie’s story weaves masterfully through the extrema of India’s history, and it is given an incredible – nearly impossible – immediacy by Saleem’s deep conviction that he, Pied Piper of the midnight children, was ultimately to blame for India’s fate.

In that mood of inebriated reading, the novel morphed in 2011 from being a story that wouldn’t end, to one that I did not want to end. I began to ration my reading, making sure to stop at the slightest sign of tiredness, or whenever the story switched it’s powerful gears through space and time and three newly created countries which were previously one. P must surely have wondered in our conversations about how long I was taking with this: but she remained patient and didn’t spoil the story for me. This year, the book wound to its vivid and fatalistic climax – from the Sunderbans of Bangladesh to the ghettos of Delhi to the seedy nightclubs of Mumbai (via Benares), while Indira Gandhi’s Emergency broke Saleem as comprehensively as it broke India. A story that stays with you, stays out of your bookshelf for so long, has to affect your daily life – it could not be otherwise. I read the denouement in a weird schizophrenic state, alternating between a suffocating horror at its events and little paroxysms of laughter at the relentless wit of the narrative. It wasn’t just literary mischief (though there is plenty of it), it was that these linguistic games amplified everything in the novel – the mounting despair; the unexpected happiness of long-awaited reunions; the bristling, snarling yet ultimately futile anger at the murder of hope.

I finished the final chapter in early October after having read the story for more than three years. Much has happened since P gifted me the book. We had long phone calls on many lonely nights; visited each other and each other’s families; argued a lot and patched-up a lot; learned things about ourselves and each other; and even got married (at midnight, no less).  Last week, when the book ended, we talked about it some more, and she expressed the desire to read it again. My thoughts in the immediate aftermath of the novel were not quite incoherent, but I became aware of two aspects about realizing that I have finished a great novel. First, there is an implicit admission that I am emotionally wiped out and will need a recovery buffer before I pick up a novel again; Second, I know that it is going to be difficult for the next book that comes along to enthrall me in the same way. So, a great novel is often followed by a longish drought. That is probably what I shall experience for some time: A bit of emptiness in the wake of Midnight’s Children. It is probably just as well.

6 thoughts on “A long story that could not (would not) be cut short”

  1. I conducted a ‘Midnight’s Children Read-Along’ from March to June this year, four months, and I consider that a long time. But reading your post makes me treasure the power of words to sustain over years. I congratulate you on your completion… and regret that we didn’t have you joining us and sharing your insights. I’ve enjoyed your reflective write-up on this post. And, if you want to treasure the literary imagery in your own mind, then forget about the film. However, if you’d like to see how others, an Indian (Canadian) director, acclaimed for her work Water, yes, Deepa Mehta collaborated with Rushdie himself reinterpret and put this on screen, you should head out to see it when it comes to town. If you’re not sure, you’re most welcome to read my review of it.

    1. Hi Arti, thanks for visiting! I was surprised to find out that a film version of Midnight’s Children was being made. I’m in two minds: Having read it so recently, I feel very protective of the story-in-my-head. On the other hand, it is a Deepa Mehta film and Rushdie has written the screenplay. For now, the first thought is stronger.

      The read-along must have been fun. I admire the persistence of the people who joined. I don’t know if I would be able to keep up. Work intrudes and is often too taxing for me to have a regular supply of energy for reading something as compelling as M.C. And then, there is the simple matter that – as some people close to me never stop reminding me – I am far too slow at most things!

  2. Wow! I read the book a very long time ago and I liked it but I read it in a rush for a school report and I know a lot went zooming past my understanding. You make me want to read it again right now!

    1. Stefanie, I’ll recommend this in a heartbeat, and will be happy to discuss any India-related connections that may not immediately be apparent.

      I do have to say that it was a tough read for me – the story takes one into very dark places. I’m storing up my resolve so that I can begin reading the Satanic Verses at some point. Have you read it? I don’t know if I will like it as much as Midnight’s Children, but want to read it because I am curious about the passages that inflamed the radical Islamists. It is a sad and barbaric thing to call for someone’s death for something that they have written.

      Maybe, I should want to read Satanic Verses as the story it was meant to be, but if I want to be honest with myself, I must admit that such is not yet the case. I will most likely begin to read it from the point of view of an non-believer who does not like to be reminded of his atheism, and yet finds people reminding him of it all the time.

      1. I have not read Satanic Verses. I have a copy though and intend to read it one of these days. Perhaps since I want to read Rushdie’s new memoir I will read Verses first. Have you read his Haroun and the Sea of Stories? It is a delightful book he wrote for his son and is all about storytelling and not allowing one’s voice to be silenced.

Leave a Reply

